Skip to Main Content

Tucker Memorial Scholarship Fund

The Mollie Tucker Memorial Scholarship Fund was established by the Episcopal Church Women (ECW) of the Episcopal Church in East Tennessee to assist deserving females who are high school graduates or have obtained their GED and will need financial assistance to pursue a trade or college education. Based on need, grants of $2,000 each will be awarded annually to a high school senior of the Episcopal Church in East Tennessee.

We’re happy to introduce our scholarship recipient below.



Angelina Delgado

My name is Angelina Delgado and I am a member of St. Paul Episcopal Church in Seymour, Tennessee. I am a Seymour High School graduate and a community volunteer. I share my time between Live-It and the Williams Family Seymour Branch Library. Live-it ministries is a non-profit thrift store/organization with a mission to glorify God by loving people and bridge the gap between those who can help and those who need. I will be studying English at Lincoln Memorial University in the fall. For as long as I can remember, I’ve loved reading and telling stories. I plan to work as a novel editor for a publishing company. My ultimate goal is to bring stories to people like me who thrive with their nose in a book!

  • About the Mollie Tucker Memorial Scholarship Fund

    The Tucker Memorial Scholarship Fund was established by the ECW of the Episcopal Church in East Tennessee according to the ECW 2004 yearbook, “in thanksgiving for Mollie Tucker’s life and witness and for her many years of service to the Episcopal Church Women in Tennessee.” The financial award is intended to help recipients reach educational goals at accredited colleges or technical schools. Since 1988, more than 25 women in the diocese have been awarded a Mollie Hazen Tucker Scholarship. It is a one-time grant, currently $2,000, for one year only.

    The Scholarship is to honor Mollie Hazen Tucker for her faithful service to the Episcopal Church Women for many years: the example she presented to all who know her, her strong leadership in Education, Worship, Mission, and in the Church at Large. The Episcopal Church Women of East Tennessee give Thanks to God for her life and witness.

    The recipient of this scholarship shall be selected by a committee appointed by the president of the Episcopal Church Women of East Tennessee.

    This is a one-time grant for one year only, to be awarded each year to a female student.

    The deadline to apply for grants is typically May 1 of each year (there is an extension in 2023), (applications must be postmarked no later than the deadline). Winners are announced around June 1, Tucker’s birthday.

    If you would like to support this program of the Episcopal Church Women by making a contribution to the fund, please contact Mary Embler, Diocesan Administrator, at or 865-966-2110.


  • Application Guidelines
    1. Applicant must be a confirmed female member of the Episcopal Church in the Diocese of East Tennessee, a 2023 high school graduate and a candidate for the first year of an accredited college, business, or technical school. Preference will be given to applicants exhibiting financial needs.
    2. Scholarship funds are confined to use for tuition, books, or a necessary school expense. These funds will be paid directly to the school or administered by the applicant’s parish priest or Senior Warden.
    3. The applicant must file a written application and furnish one letter of recommendation from each of the following: 1). Her parish priest or Senior Warden if there is no priest available; 2). A high school teacher, faculty member or employer. These items should be collected by the applicant and submitted to the Scholarship Chairman in one envelope.
    4. Applications must be submitted no later than August 14th of 2023.
    5. The Scholarship will be awarded by August 31st of the current school year.
    6. Applications may be obtained by clicking here.

    For further information please contact:

    Mary Lee-Baer
    210 County Road 135, Athens, TN 37303
    (423) 333 – 0216