Skip to Main Content

Bishop & Council (B&C) of the Diocese of East Tennessee

The Bishop and Council comprises the bishop plus ten lay and clerical members who represent each of the three geographical areas of the diocese – two of each from the populous South East and Middle East areas and one of each from the Upper East Area. Each term is three years.

“B&C” carries out the work of the Diocesan Convention between its annual meetings and oversees the program of the diocese. Among its responsibilities, B&C prepares the diocesan budget to be approved by Diocesan Convention and approves grants and loans recommended by the Opportunity Fund Committee. Members follow implementation of convention resolutions and work with the bishop on ministry and mission decisions in the diocese. Members may also serve on committees and/or work on projects and tasks between meetings at large, and may need to build and lead teams to accomplish goals and complete projects. Members gather four to six times a year for meetings at the Diocesan House in Knoxville, and annual meetings may include an overnight retreat.

Current members of B&C are:

Terms expire February 2023:

Terms expire February 2024:

Terms expire February 2025:

Other members:

The Rt. Rev. Brian Lee Cole

Mr. George Arrants
865-525-5134 ext. 122